Forum

This content is now out of date.

Visit Our Community

Advanced Functionality

There are a lot of advanced functions I would like to modify Yellowfin to have. I am a fairly experienced developer, with a wide range of experience. But I haven't done anything like this with Yellowfin.

What would be the best way to go about building some of these features?

I thought it might be similar to the packs available on the marketplace, but I wasn't able to find any documentation on how to build one of those.

Or should I simply request the features, and wait for them to be implemented and released?
Hi Johnathon,

Thanks for sending in the question. If I am understanding what you are after, it sounds like you are trying to learn how to create custom functions for use in calculated fields. By default, Yellowfin ships with some standard custom functions, but if would like to add more you are going to have to create your own (they aren't found on the marketplace).

Here is some information on this subject which should be helpful:

Wiki:
Custom Functions

Forum:
How to Create your Own Custom Functions of Use in Calculated Fields

Could you let us know if this is the information you are after? I look forward to hearing back.

Kind Regards,

Dustin
Thank you for responding,

Unfortunately, the features I want for Yellowfin cannot be created using custom functions.

Perhaps I should create some sort of feature request as opposed to building it myself?

To give you an idea of the sort of features I'm after:

I would like to be able to manually select what fields are contained within a cross-tab report. Currently, only metrics are allowed, but I would like to use some text data.

I would like to highlight entire rows based on whether a column matches a value. Similar to the as-is conditional formatting, but without having to manually do it for each field.